Posted by: endithinks | December 31, 2009

On Being useful

The last few weeks of the year have been the busiest I’ve been for the past few months.  I’ve been writing almost everyday and I’ve gotten assignments and projects and meetings and conferences.  It feels good to be back at work even if I’m still on a voluntary basis.

I’ve learned quite a few things as I’ve been looking for employment and one of them is definitely to stay busy and to be useful.  I’ve gotten much better and making connections with kind, warm, and connected people and that has only come about by doing for others when I myself needed some assistance.

This last year has been one of transition moving from Portland, Oregon to Seattle, Washington without an existing job was a bit more stressful than I initially planned, but it is all coming together now as I continue to volunteer and write write write.  I almost made my goal of writing at least one post every three days and I will aim for that target again in the coming year.

Always use your gifts that have been given to you.  Relearn and grow those other talents that may have abandoned you.  Always put others needs in congruence with your own and never become too self-absorbed.

Leave a Reply

Categories

