Posted by: endithinks | December 16, 2009

On Unemployment

I used to tell my students about the pitfalls that they needed to avoid when they were looking for work and I always fully believed every example I gave them.  I’m finding out that I do actually know what I’m talking about.

One of the interesting things about being unemployed, or self employed as I tell potential employers is the mental state that slowly begins to creep into your mind.  I’ve found that I am more tired, get upset easier and in general I feel ragged and torn.

I have been taking positive steps including studying up on different areas and disciplines in order to round out my gifts and talents.  I’ve also been volunteering to get me out of the house and to actually make a difference while I have the time.  I’m doing well on that front.

The problem with unemployment is that it is almost a self reinforcing dilemma.  You cannot find work so you get upset and no one responds to a person who is upset.  It is as if you are spitting out whatever you drink and then complaining about being thirsty.

I’m still standing and I have a few things in line that look very promising, but I have to remember that I actually do have good advice that I should follow.

Leave a Reply

Categories

