Posted by: endithinks | July 4, 2009

On catching up

I don’t know about you, but these last few weeks have seemed to be on hyper speed.  I’ve been hurrying here and there to keep up with all the news that has been happening and sometimes I feel like I’m being crushed under the weight of the world’s goings on.  Of course I’m also excited and curious to the point of distraction and lately I’ve been wanting to know more and more.   I’m sick of getting my information through filters of talking heads and TV anchors spewing their opinion over the voices of their guests with finger pointing and overtly argumentative hand gestures.  Sometimes I feel like they are going to have an apoplectic episode and have the live feeds cut to an intern taking a shower of something.

I’m not gonna talk about all the news today as I’m sure it has been bashed around and around by people more talented than I, but I did want to to talk about one thing that happened this week that I think was fascinating.  The picture of demonstrations of Americans for the rights of Iranians.  I thought it appropriate on the eve of Independence Day to talk of revolutions and of the feeling of sympathy and outpouring of care that many Americans have shown the people taking to the streets or screaming out “Allah Akbar” in the middle of the night.

It makes my heart warm to know that we still have the capacity to look beyond our backyards and flat screen TVs and genuinely care about what is happening across the planet especially with a country that for the last few years has been called “Axis of Evil” and a land that is both unknown to many of us and feared as a breeding ground for fundamentalist.

Of course most of us don’t realize that the most fundamentalist and anti democracy country is a nearby neighbor of Iran, Saudi Arabia.  Of course we love Saudi Arabia with its antiquated beliefs about stoning of women and beating of thieves.  We love them.

Leave a Reply

Categories

