Posted by: endithinks | November 21, 2008

On Generosity and the underlying goodness of America

I have held my country to the fires and watched it over my thirty odd years.  I’ve had a critical eye and the expectations of the highest order.  I love this country with all my heart and therefore I hold it to a higher standard.  I hold the ideas of the Constitution and the Bill of Rights and the Rule of Law in such high esteem that sometimes I have to rant and rail against the injustice I see us commit.

But I also have to celebrate the things we do right.  Today is a day like that.  I’ve always told people that the generosity of most Americans is a fundamental part of who we are and it is nice to see my beliefs corroborated.  In an AP article this morning the proof of how much we desire to aid others is in the proverbial pudding.  American charitable giving is actually up this year despite the economic recession.

American Giving

We are each others keeper.  We give when it hurts to give.  For example, I’ve been tightening my belt lately as most of us have and I’ve cut out entertainment spending, spending on a books (which most times is a new every other week) and eating out.  I’ve also trimmed back my contributions to the stock market by about 40% and gotten a bit less aggressive on the savings side because there was no way I was going to stop giving to the charities in which I give.

Children International

American Civil Liberties Union

Greenpeace

Nature

Amnesty International

Kiva

Consider others and give, but don’t forget about yourself either.

Leave a Reply

Categories

