Posted by: endithinks | May 16, 2008

On Tests and Studying

Being a teacher I should know better than to procrastinate when it comes to studying and things like that.  I haven’t been doing too bad when it comes to being focused on my homework( I have been doing it pretty much consistently) but I have been hitting the books hard on the day before the work is do. 

During University I would always wait until the last minute to do my work and I did it well, but ask me about some of my classes and you will get the big stare and a couple of nervous giggles.  I’m what you would classify as the person with natural talent (I’m not being arrogant here I swear, I’m the humblest guy I know) but until relatively recently with an abysmal work ethic.  I played on my strengths and relied on natural ability to get me through the tough times.

Now I am relying more on hard work.  I am beginning to realize that the abilities that come naturally will not always be enough.  Good work requires hard work. 

I’m a big believer in the power of tests, but they should not be the end all be all of someone’s evaluation.  Knowledge is not only facts, but it is also the combination of connecting information in a meaningful, engaging way to one’s personal life.  Learning is not memorization only it needs to be synthesized with the individual to have any long term meaning.

I’ve been pretty good about studying my vocalb words and hopefully I will start to encorporate them more seamlessly into my everyday cant.  I do really need to synthesize those as well. 

Ugh talk about a whining post.  Next post will be better I promise. 

This is why it is such a big deal about testing only as the end all be all.  Look at the current rates of High School Graduation in the United States here.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

