Posted by: endithinks | May 7, 2008

On Connection

I am heartbroken over what happened these past few days in Burma.  The thought of so many lives snuffed out at once is so terrifying and hurtful.  I never knew any of them yet they are gone.  I never saw a face or heard a song, or watched a child playing.

I don’t know what to do about it either.  I want to help and I want to stop these things.  It is so frustrating and humbling to see the force of nature still holding its sway over us no matter how far we’ve come. 

I feel that their suffering is my suffering.  The thought that 15000 people have been wiped out without more than a mere mention in the news and a slightly aggressive demand to be let in to help by a presidential candidate makes me wonder why we aer so heartless.  These are our brothers and sisters and it seems like most of us don’t care.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

