Posted by: endithinks | January 11, 2008

On Antipathy of Test Days

I absolutely hate test days.  I hate the fact that there is a “right” and “wrong.”  I hate the fact that I have to sit in judgement and crush the morale of the students who cannot succeed. 

I have three such students now who I have to admit don’t have much chance of success and it breaks my heart.  One cannot concentrate in class and simply writes down information and then dazes off into the distance.  One is preoccupied with a meaningless rebellion against the rules and regulations and sits in class brooding.  The last student simply does not understand any of the concepts.

Is it bad that I only focus on the few that fail and not the majority who succeed?  Whenever I grade tests the amount of failure dictates my attitude.  For example today in my first class I had one student fail out of 16 and I was melancholy to be generous to myself.  In my second class  I had 2 out of 15…same result.

 So do I put too much of myself into this?  Where does my responsibility end?

Leave a Reply

Categories

