Posted by: endithinks | November 5, 2007

On Dreams and Drive

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about what our goals and dreams say about us.  I have a tendency to want to give advice and opinions when I meet people who are having a hard time deciding what they want.  I have to struggle to keep the preacher/teacher in me from giving my motivational speech about our goals and desires and I barely keep the lid on that jar of benevolent unsought advice monstrosity.

I’ve been thinking about how most of us coast through life as if we were leaves on the waves instead of men and women on a row boat with the oars gripped in our hands.  It is a difficult thing to preach when you yourself are having struggles with the question “where do you want to be in five years?”

I need to make sure that I am doing what I need to do before I start judging others desires or goals.

I really enjoy what I am doing right now.  I’ve found a position that is challenging and fun so I’m not at the mode of “what am I doing here!” anymore.  It is a nice feeling.  However, I do not think this is my career for life.  I am glad to have rediscovered my passion for teaching.  It is refreshing to look forward to work everyday.  I haven’t had that in a long time.

I do have “higher” dreams though.  Do I want to continue down the path of teacher in different fields perhaps?  Do I want to explore a different way of service such as international relations, non profit work or should I go with my true dream, that of writing?

I have to make a decision, but I’m in a good position to make a decision based on my preferences and desires not necessity.  That is the difference in some peoples’ decisions.  If the decision is because you have to do something, you will not make a decision that will make you happy.  I call those decisions “survivalcisions.”  Survivalcisions are never the way up, they are treading water.

Leave a Reply

Categories

