Posted by: endithinks | October 3, 2007

On Peanut Butter and Apathy

Yesterday we broke up into teams and had a group discussion/project on how to make a peanut butter and jelly sandwich.  they had ten minutes to accomplish the task and I kept throwing out distractions and rule changes as they went on. 

After the project was finished they handed in the papers and I then told them that I would be making the sandwiches the next day using only their written directions.  A few gasps and a few yawns and it was actually funny and something for them to look forward to.

Fast forward to today and the entire Pb and J experience.  They really couldn’t care as I dropped the knife filled with peanut butter to the floor and smashed bread slices together.  They were coach potatoes who didn’t have the energy to pick up the remote and change the channel.  A few of them chuckled with canned “applause now” laughter, but for the majority they were bored out of their gourds.

What can I do to get them more involved?  Am I being impatient? (The class is only on its third day.)  Should I continue to strive to lighten the class, or should I just understand that the early morning frost lands on grass and minds in unequal doses?

Responses

  1. I’ve been there myself and I wish I had some words of wisdom to share, but alas. If I know you well, you will never stop attempting to get the class energized and engaged but there is something to be said about early mornings and sleepy minds. You are up for a challenge, but it sounds like you’re putting forth great effort, so keep up the persistence and I’m sure you’ll get at least some pay off in the form of a few genuine chuckles.


Leave a Reply

Categories

