Posted by: endithinks | September 14, 2007

On New Opportunities

I am starting my new “trial” period position next Monday and I am really getting excited about it.

This week, mostly yesterday, I have been getting ready for the classroom and I’ve discovered how much I’ve taken from my student teaching experience all those years ago (self referencing link!) and I’ve really been prepared.

I have all the materials for the entire week mapped out and copied.  I have extra materials in case we burn through the premade curriculum, and I have been mining the minds of various teachers here on outstanding activities, tricks and “look-over-there!-scurry-aways.”

I feel that I am ready and that is a good feeling.

I’m going to start the class off with a classroom “discussion” of four agreements.  I think that stating the rules right from the start and getting input on those rules is essential to the smoothness of a classroom.  Then the obligatory syllabus going over, much to my chagrin, and then other really cool things.

I’ve been catching up on my reading of different techniques, motivations and bribes and some of them I will most definitely use, others are already forgotten.

Here are a couple websites that have excellent information:

ERIC

Critical Thinking

Teachnology

This is of course not an exhaustive list, but you get the point.  Okay time to go over my curriculum again. 

Leave a Reply

Categories

